Thanksgiving


Thanksgiving has taken an even greater meaning to my family since the accident.  The crash happened two days after Thanksgiving.  Since then we have used this day to celebrate that we are still together.  It is one of the happiest days of the year for me.  December 1st always seems cold and dark to me.   Today though I feel alive.  I walked the Turkey Trot in pouring down rain and I did it faster than last year.  Our house smells like roasting turkey.  The kids are watching the Thanksgiving parades on TV.  Soon friends and family will be at our home drinking wine and having fun.  Truth be told, I am also really looking forward to my post-meal nap.  A tradition that dates back years but has taken significant importance now that walking a 5K race feels like a half marathon use too.

This year I am most thankful for how far I have come in the last three years.  Three years ago I felt like I had the world in the palm of my hand.  The economy was awesome,  real estate was “easy”.  Dagmar, our super, awesome aupair was still living with us.  My family life was running like a well oiled machine.  I was looking forward to my first Christmas in 13 years not in retail.  So much changed so quickly.  17 days later I was woken from my coma to find that my world was turned upside down.  While I laid in my nursing home bed unable to move the outside world around me began to fall apart.  First the stock market.  Then the real estate market.  I stared at a tack on the wall trying to deal with my pain as everything I knew kept collapsing around me.  It was then that I first started to realize that the only thing I truly needed was my family.

Three years later I no longer desire to own the world.  I am just happy to be of it.  I have lived through a roller coaster of issues and emotions and I finally feel like I am getting off the ride.  I continue to have health issues and life can really stress me out, but no matter what life throws at us, my family and I have been through worse and survived.

I plan to let a lot of people know about my blog today.  Up until this point I have struggled to share our story in the written word.  This is an issue since I also have a couple hundred page book that I wrote that I need to find a publisher for as well as a national magazine that just wrote a feature story about my recovery that comes out in February.

I thank God that I still have my wonderful family and that I am well enough to enjoy them.  I try not to look to far into the future anymore but when I look at my past three years I really have come a very long way simply by living one day at a time.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. Carol Morrow says:

    John, thank you for sharing this with me. I truly understand what you are going through. A few years ago, my whole life as I knew it fell apart as well. It does make you realize what really is important. I’m about to put my real estate license in a referal company. Money and such arent as important anymore. I’m now working as a CNA and loving it. I’m in school fulltime now and working hard for my RN. Never ever dreamed I would be doing this at age 46, but I am, and loving it. Caring for others seems so much more rewarding then the fast pace life I used to live. Again thanks for sharing with me. I hope you have a wonderful Holiday season.

  2. Dagmar says:

    John, I truly miss being with you guys today, to celebrate another milestone of your recovery, and also to treasure all the wonderful people around us! I am very proud to be able to say that I have lived with and am part of a phenomal family such as yours! Truly inspiring!

  3. Tod Shedlosky says:

    John, congratulations on your great recovery & efforts to regain your quality of life! I can’t believe it’s been 3 years since your accident…I remember very well coming to see you in the rehab center… One thing that always was clear to me is that you would continue to recover with your positive attitude! Keep up the good work and I will be looking forward to seeing you soon! Tod

  4. Bill Bachinsky says:

    John, congrats on another great milestone for you and your family….by the way, I taught Tod Shedlo the “….” email wrting technique. I can’t believe he is using it without my permission….see you on the 11th, Bill

  5. Thomas Green says:

    John,

    It was wonderful seeing you this past weekend. You look as good as you do in the picture. What struck me even more than the article was truly understanding what you deal with in your ongoing recovery day to day. And some of your rehab will be forever. You certainly are an inspiration and one thing is for sure…..we should be grateful to be as healthy as we are. Everything else is a distant second.

    God Bless you and your family this holiday season. Merry Christmas

    Tom

Leave a Reply

