Exciting News


James is really excited about the news...

I have been holding back some exciting news that I am now ready to reveal….

Next month the March issue of Men’s Fitness will come out and I will be featured in it.  It is their “motivation” issue.  I have been working with them for that past few months.  I was interviewed by a freelance writer from New York City named Tim Stuby.  Tim has done articles for a lot of fitness/sports magazines including ESPN the Magazine.  I really enjoyed working and talking with Tim and am looking forward to reading the story he wrote.  (Most journalist don’t want you to preview their stories before they are published.  A “fact checker” called to verify details, but I have not seem it.)  I then worked with Ben Lowy, an incredible photographer, who has done a lot of freelance work in Iraq, Afghanistan and post-earthquake Haiti.  He  has had vehicles that he was traveling in blown up by bombs 3 or 4 times.  He is almost as beat-up as me.  He was a very interesting guy and has seen both amazing and horrific things in his travels.  I really enjoyed my day with him. It was very humbling to work with someone who is often putting himself  in harm’s way in order to get that one photo that will tell the whole story.  Shooting photos of me was significantly below his normal level of excitement and danger.  Plus, I think it was pretty awkward for both of us.   I have included links to both his website and a great article that was written about him.

This is a great opportunity for me to share my family’s story with their 800,000+ monthly readers.  Everyone that I have dealt with at Men’s Fitness has been very supportive and kind.  However,  I would be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous.  That’s a lot of people who will be reading something about me that I didn’t write.  But, if my goal is to try to reach out to as many people as I can, than this a great opportunity.

There will also be an article about my recovery in the February issue of Harrisburg Magazine.  February is their fitness issue and Anne Greenawalt, the author who has been helping me with my book,  wrote the story.  I don’t know many off the details of the article, but again, it is great regional outlet to tell our story and help to bring more attention to this blog.

One the local Carlisle scene, I just finished a photo shoot and interview with the Carlisle Sentinel.  I believe the story will appear in the paper this Friday (January 7, 2011).  Jason Malmont came to the YMCA yesterday and shot photos of me working out.  It was a little weird having someone with a big camera hiding behind equipment shooting photos of me in a crowded gym.  Luckily, most of the people there know me, but there were a lot of college kids who are home for the holidays working out who were probably wondering why someone was taking photos of the middle-aged guy.  That afternoon, I met with Rebecca Gregg (Becca) from the paper for the interview.  I enjoyed the interview because I got to talk a lot about why I do this blog.

As you can see, things have been a little bit of a whirlwind lately, but I have to believe this is all part of God’s plan.  I will let you know when the magazines hit the stands.  If you are on Facebook and/or Twitter and haven’t “friended” or “followed” me yet, please do.  Also, if you enjoy reading my posts, sign up on my home screen to receive them via email.  I especially want to thank all of you who have shared my blog with others.  To date over I have had over 2000 views.  I have many more posts in the works and have gotten some great suggestions from all of you. Look for a post on alternative forms of pain management coming soon.

THANKS AGAIN FOR THE SUPPORT!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exciting News

  1. tshedlosky says:

    Go John Go! Wow, that is great news! I just checked out Ben’s site along with the very interesting interview, which is powerful! Thanks for the update and I have the date in my calender to buy Men’s Fitness! Tod

Leave a Reply

