A Daughter’s Father


This post was written by my 12-year-old daughter Katie.  She is my first guest-blogger.  She wrote this post in a notebook and asked me to help her edit it and put it into my blog.  I was pretty emotional after I read it.  She was old enough, when the accident happened, to notice how our lives were changed.  She was the only one who stayed conscious in the car after the crash. She saw things no 7-year-old, no person,  should ever have to see.  It never ceases to amaze me how grounded she has been through all this.  Tonia and I are very proud of her.  (As a side note: She does over-emphasize my awesomeness.  However, as long I am awesome in my kid’s eyes then I am fulfilling the one “true” reason I survived the crash.)

I think my dad is awesome. When I was younger we would watch Harry Potter movies all the time.  I think we watched some of them 20+ times.  I am sure he got sick of watching them, but I loved them so he would sit and watch them with me.  I would tell him that I wanted to go to school at Hogwarts and he would tell me that he would miss me too much.  That was my dream.  Now my dad is like Harry Potter.  He is famous for surviving, just like Harry.  Even though I am now 12, I still wouldn’t mind going to school at Hogwarts 🙂

A lot of things changed after the accident. My dad couldn’t come outside and play soccer with me or run around in the yard.  He got real tired and had to rest a lot during the day.  Sometimes he would come out and play soccer, but instead of kicking the ball he would hit it with his cane.  One time he fell and that scared my mom and me.  He still tried to be an awesome dad for James and I, but I could tell it was hard for him.  I would sit in his bed and he would help me with my homework.  He would say, “If you don’t do well in school, you won’t get into a good college.”  I was 8.  It was my worst nightmare.  I didn’t want to let my dad down.  He always has encouraged me to work hard at everything I do, to never give up on my dreams.  He also told me that when I was a rich and famous soccer player and business owner I would have to buy him an expensive sports car!

My dad has taught me many things, from sports to school to having a social life.  For as long as I remember, I have been very social.  My teachers would write on my report card, “A little too social” and my dad would say I get that from him.  “It isn’t a bad thing to be social”, he would tell me.  “You can’t have too many friends.”

My dad has never let me down.  I don’t think he wants to let anyone down.  He never says “no” to anyone and always wants to help.  My dad is a great role model for people any age.  Everyone can relate to what he has been through and what he has done to get better.  He is my motivation to get out of bed on rainy, cold days.  I know that he is in a lot of pain in the morning but he still gets up to help my brother and me get ready and then drives us to school.  If it wasn’t for my dad, I don’t know how I would do anything.

Now my dad is really strong. People write stories about how strong he is now.  He tries to get to the gym every day. Between working, taking my brother and me to school and getting home in time to take us to all of our events, it is hard for him to find time to workout. I don’t know how he does it. I know he wants to be the best person he can be.  My dad takes me to the gym with him.  He helps me build my upper body strength so I can be a better soccer player.  I like to watch him workout.  He is the strongest person at the gym.

My dad helps me to achieve all of my goals. He tells me that if I don’t work hard and test myself, I will not be as great as I can be.  He tests himself all the time so that he can get better.  He wants to get better for us.  I see him in pain and it makes me sad.  He tries to pretend it doesn’t hurt but I can tell it does.

I hope he is an inspiration to all of you, he sure is to me!

Love,

Katie xoxoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Daughter’s Father

  1. john says:

    BEAUTIFUL! WHAT A GREAT DAUGHTER. FR. JOHN COLLINS

  2. Donna says:

    Katie without a doubt your dad is proud of you and he and you are good people to be social with. Show people that between God and your strength you can get ahead in whatever you try. I have a different kind of story then yours but I still need God and I need the strength to pull myself back up and get myself as far as I can get myself for me and my kids and my future. I hope my kids are half as proud of me as you are of your dad in the end. Thank you for posting your story you did an awesome job with it.

  3. Lisa Schmidt says:

    Hi Katie! I am traveling with your parents to Rome, Greece, and Turkey. I’m looking forward to meeting them (and maybe you someday)!

    This is a lovely tribute to your father. I am sure both he and your mom are very proud of you – I can tell you have a huge heart and an even bigger spirit!

    My Dad died in an accident about 1 1/2 years ago, and he appears to be a lot like your Dad. He was my biggest champion, my biggest cheerleader, and not having him here has been hard. It warms my heart that you are so loving and appreciate of your Dad.
    When you are 16, your Dad may say and do things that will drive you nuts. When that happens, go back and read this to put things into perspective!

    God bless you! And keep being social! 🙂

  4. Desiree says:

    What a great post Katie! We are just as proud of you and we are of your dad and the rest of the family. What an inspiration you are to all of us. You are learning great life lessons from your parents and putting them to good use I see!

  5. Excellent post Katie!

    I’m looking forward to getting to know your father (and your mom!) as we travel through Rome, Greece and Turkey.

    He’s already inspired me and we’ve only spent an afternoon together!

    You are very lucky and a great writer!

    -Mountain

  6. Gail says:

    Katie,
    What a wonderful post. You have shown so much strength through this whole ordeal. Quite a bit to handle for someone your age. Never forget how much your Dad loves you, James, and your Mom. That love and strength from the family and from God has helped him stay motivated and determined to get well.

  7. Robin says:

    Wonderful post Katie! From the moment I met you I knew you had to come from an exceptional family. I am blessed to know you. But with such love I don’t think they could bear to send you to boarding school in England. but as a consolation, Trinity has a Harry Potter club and a quidditch team 😉 May God continue to bless all of you with a bond of love that knows no limit. Therein lies all riches.

  8. Dana Carl says:

    That is quite a moving story. You and your entire family are very blessed! I am glad you are all doing well and happy! Thank you for sharing your story, your entire family is very inspirational. I graduated high school with your father. He is a wonderful man and great father. I wish you all the best! Lots of love, Dana

  9. PaulH says:

    awwww my goodness that is sweet. You are both so lucky to have such a strong and positive relationship and you both obviously appreciate it very much… awesome! Lovin it!

  10. John, you are an inspiration to all of us. Sometimes we don’t get so see the effect we have on others. You have been given a golden nugget in this post by your daughter. Enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

